Introduction

Me displaying my online exhibit about the history of Ford's Theatre during the 150th anniversary of Abraham Lincoln's assassination.

Here I am displaying my online exhibit about the history of Ford’s Theatre during the 150th anniversary of Abraham Lincoln’s assassination. Photo taken by my internship adviser, David McKenzie.

Who Am I?
My name is Anna Snyder and I am a graduate student in American University’s public history program. I created this website as a part of my history in the digital age class. As a public historian, I aspire to make history relevant and accessible, and what better way to do that than by bringing it directly to the public through the wonders of the internet.

I hail from the small town of Fishkill, NY. Settled by the Dutch in the 17th century, this place played a significant role in the Revolutionary War and is just a short car ride away from Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s Home. Being entrenched in such history, I became intrigued by the past very quickly.

I started to understand my love for history in middle school, became more confident about it in high school, and firmly established it in college. I went to Binghamton University in Upstate New York for undergrad. Here I majored in history, but realized that I did not necessarily want to teach. As I sought out other opportunities, I stumbled on public history. And a couple years later, here I am.

Why Am I Here?
I am here in Washington, D.C. because I attend American University. I am on this site because, yes it is required for my digital history class, but more specifically, because it is where I will post links to my digital projects, blogs about the process involved in completing these projects, and discussions of relevant readings.

I am just now finishing up a digital public history internship with Ford’s Theatre, where I spent my time writing blogs, creating online exhibits, standardizing metadata, organizing collections, and curating labels for their new (and incredible!) Remembering Lincoln website. So while I am not completely uncomfortable with the digital world, there is still so much for me to learn.

Love it or hate it, we live in a time when museum professionals need to hone in on their digital technology skills. The depths of the internet mean that there are so many more people to reach than ever before. Academic historians may be able to remain within their ivory towers for a bit longer, but public historians really don’t have that option any more. Public history must go digital.

Ultimately, at the end of this course, I hope to broaden my knowledge of the online world, to become more confident in my skills, and to expand my public history audiences from the physical to the digital.

One thought on “Introduction

  1. Pingback: Digital History…It’s A Wrap | Public History Goes Digital

Leave a Comment

